How long did it take you to learn?

How long did it take you to learn?

Hi I am 13 years old and I have a tenor guitar. I have been learning for 6 months. I am quite good at stuming and singing and I can play about 5 Irish tunes without strumming. I cant find the right notes to make up a tune on my own I need to read them for weeks How long will it take before I can just play any tune? My uncle said it took him 3 years

Posted by .

Re: How long did it take you to learn?

Clair- When you say "I cant find the right notes to make up a tune on my own" I assume you mean figuring out a tune by ear, not composing new tunes. There have been a slew of threads on this topic, but here’s a quick summary :1-get the tune down in your head before you try to find the notes-it helps to start with very familiar tunes-nursery rhymes, TV jingles, etc. Since you sing, this is a big help- sing the tune, and then find the notes on the guitar.
2 -It can help to familiarize yourself with a few basic scales, most importantly D Major and G Major. Since most Irish tunes use the notes from these scales primarily, knowing these fingerings can reduce guesswork.
3-Many people use software to slow down recordings which can help to hear difficult parts.
4-As to how long it takes, of course the answer is it depends-on so many factors, but largely on how much time and energy you put into it. You’re young, so you have plenty of both. Good Luck.

Thank you I did not know that was what playing by ear ment I kept seeing that word on the internet.
The only tune I can play by ear is happy birthday & I can only get that right sometimes. I can sing some Beatles songs & play cords without a book but I cant so any Irish music when you press the notes one at a time. I play every day sometimes I get up and play in the morning two. I can play more better now my dad fitted a capo because my guitar has a long neck ha ha

Posted by .

I did not mean to say more better just better x

Posted by .