Reels on the guitar

Reels on the guitar

Have been working on these tunes and really trying to focus on my right hand picking which has been the weakness in my playing for years. I feel I’m getting better but I’ve had to totally change my picking technique. Anybody out there have the same problem. Any advice would be appreciated
Cheers
https://vimeo.com/133137003

Re: Reels on the guitar

After 30 plus years playing guitar I started playing tunes on mandolin and later fiddle in tunes sessions in and around Manchester UK. After about 20 years of that I decided to try playing tunes on the guitar.

One problem I had was to do with the string length and subsequent fret spacing. It is about double that of the mandolin and fiddle. Another problem, or aspect of the previous problem, was the fact that this doubled string length results in playing an octave below the violins, mandolins, whistles and flutes etc that are playing in the same session and not being able to hear oneself.