New to the tenor banjo

New to the tenor banjo

My new Goodtime Special 17-Fret Tenor ~ without the resonator ~ is in the house. I’m brand spankin’ new to the tenor banjo (yes, I intend to take lessons and watch good banjo players). My Irish session teacher gives lessons, I think. I’m still open to suggestions: Enda Scahill on Skype?

I’ve been playing all trad all the time on my mandolin for about six years now … will continue, but want to be heard at sessions ~ eventually. Plus, I’m looking forward to getting made fun of: to thicken my skin and build character.

Not sure about picks … my mandolin picks run from 1 mm to 1.5 mm; looks like banjos like floppier picks: 60 mm or less. I welcome any suggestions.

I’ll definitely need a strap … the banjo is much heaver than my little Gibson mandolin. I’m all ears for strap ideas.

Lastly, I reckon I’ll need a mute to keep peace in the house and possibly a capo. Not sure if the neck is radiused, so I’ll hold off on the capo until I know for sure.

Thanks in advance. I’m tickled pink I finally got a banjo!!

Re: New to the tenor banjo

Congrats!

I think your biggest challange will be getting used to playing ‘one finger per fret’ after being used to the ‘violin fingering’ you probably use on the mandolin. Unless you have very large hands you will have to get used to moving your hand around to use that fingering. Both methods have their pros and cons, but I found using different fingerings to play the same patterns when switching between instruments to be very difficult. I probably could have worked through that but it was messing up my mandolin playing. Ultimately my solution was to take my banjo to a friends house and leave it there.

Hopefully you will find a better solution!