Flute maintenance

Flute maintenance

HNY to all, a question regarding flute maintenance …

I’ve been playing a Casey Burns folk flute for a few years and was fairly easy to manage from a maintenance point of view. No brass liner in the head piece and threads in the joints, so wipe after playing to remove condensation and occasionally treat with almond oil did the trick.

I’ve recently (4 months) changed to playing a flute with cork in the joints instead of thread and brass lining in the head piece. I’m noticing a few differences …
The cork swells way more than the thread and after playing for 30 mins or more is almost impossible to undo the joint without serious torque. Overnight the cork will contract so much that the headpiece fell on the floor a few days ago it was so loose. I’ve taken to adding a couple winds of thread over the cork to make sure it doesn’t happen again but don’t know if this will make matters worse ?
As I couldn’t clean the headpiece correctly, I’ve noticed the brass has become discoloured due to the condensation. Not sure if this is ‘normal’ or not and should I remove it or not and how ?

Any advice welcome, Rosie.

Re: Flute maintenance

Hi it’s not the cork that is swelling, its the wood. The tenons will soak up condensation and make the joints tighten. The wood needs to be played in, until it gets to a steady moister content then the fit will be good. You need to grease the cork. I have used many types of grease on the cork, but these days petroleum jelly, Vaseline, I find is good. Is the brass you are taking about the tube going in to the barrel of your flute ? Do you know what wood the flute is made of and if possible a makers name ? That might help others to help answer your questions.
Cheers.

Thanks Jon, I’ll put Vaseline on the shopping list.

My new flute is made by Stefane Morvan in Brittany. African Blackwood is the material.
The brass liner runs through the head and mates with the tuning slide in the barrel.
Thanks.