where is your bow hand?

where is your bow hand?

I always used to play with my hand up the bow a bit toward the fiddle, I self taught so it became a (?bad) habit, but I found I could play faster with more control and put pressure over the bow for the bite when needed (trying to play like tommy p. pretty much!)

Starting back at the fiddle now after years and wondering should I torture myself trying to hold it nearer the grip (which seems unnatural to me).

Are there any top fiddlers that hold the bow away from the grip or in other weird ways? is it worth investing time trying to hold it ‘properly’? What do you guys do? Just interested to know

Cheers

Re: where is your bow hand?

There are many players, good and bad, that play with a non classical hold and vice versa … each to his own.
But bows evolved to be held at the frog for many good reasons so if you do not want to be restricted it’s worth pursuing.

Playing a fiddle is completely unnatural 🙂

A quick poll by image search on some great players gives a pretty strong result, to my mind, but hey, your choice.
Up the stick is fine for knocking out a tune as easily as possible. Dare I say it, lots of old English traditional players used to play like that…. But try it for a slow air……

One thing that looks awful is when classical players hold the bow up the stick to look more trad, it’s like a fake accent!

But there are some very fine players who hold further up the stick. I think there was a discussion about Cape Breton style here recently.

Referring exclusively to bow hold when talking about "up the stick," of course.

would most just hold with the thumb and two fingers near the grip then? I went on youtube and tried to do the classical hold and it was bloody awful. I think i’m going to invest a bit of time after reading your comments and try and keep it near the frog (it always slips up when I get into it though!)
thanks for the help so far, v helpful