Wood Whistle

Wood Whistle

What is the best way to oil a wood whistle and how often should you do so?

Re: Wood Whistle

Please leave a comment about your experience.

I was told almond oil was good for wooden flutes. Don’t oil the windway though. You should probably clean out moisture after playing but I never do.

Oh, there have been so many website pages written including much controversy about the best oil to use on wood. Now, I have no experience with wood whistles but I do have an armload of wood flutes and IMO the best oil to use is cold-pressed linseed oil. I get mine from a local artist-supply store in small bottles in the section where artist painting supplies are sold, but that same oil might also be available at your local natural/organic food store as cold-pressed linseed oil is for some reason also considered to be a good food. Use plenty of it and let it soak into the wood. Wood loves that oil. And then simply wipe off and wipe out any excess oil.

PS

DO NOT USE BOILED LINSEED OIL AS AVAILABLE AT YOUR LOCAL HARDWARE STORE!

Boiled linseed oil is not 100% natural and includes drying agents which are BAD for wood.

“cold-pressed linseed oil is for some reason also considered to be a good food.”
Yes, Adolf Hitler, who was a vegetarian, had all his food cooked in linseed oil (and look what it did to him). But I believe that in the health food stores it’s the same thing as flax oil. I do, by the way, use raw linseed oil on my wooden whistle with good results.

“But I believe that in the health food stores it’s the same thing as flax oil.” - Gobby

Yes, I believe you are right, that cold-pressed linseed oil is the same thing as flax oil. There is some controversy, however, about human ingestion of flax oil. But that oil works perfectly well with wood. Wood loves it and that oil is my #1 go-to oil for wood flutes.

The oiling of whistles/flutes is for the purpose of controlling moisture content in the wood.