Tommy Peoples’ Triplets

Tommy Peoples’ Triplets

How does he get those really tight sounding triplets? Examples on the Katharine Cornell Concert Album…especially The Frieze Britches. Its almost spiccato bowing. Suggestions anyone? Thanks in advance.

Re: Tommy Peoples’ Triplets

Welcome to thesession.org Ed.
Name drop alert..
In 1978 I asked Donal Lunny (we were supporting the Bothy Band at Cardiff Uni.) exactly the same question and he just said he flicks the end of the bow with his little finger (or the one next to it) at the same time as moving the bow in the usual way to get the triplets. So you have the vertical bounce at the same time as the lateral movement. Good luck practising it.

Wow, that sounds both hard but rewarding!

I haven’t heard the Katharine Cornell Concert Album, but I know Tommy Peoples’ triplets quite well, and I studied them for a bit earlier on. So, unless his playing has changed drastically, here’s how he get that triplet sound :

He get the triplets by using a *very* short bow stroke for each one, sometimes so short that the string is ‘choked’, so that the note is not allowed to sound - there’s no pitch, just a ‘scrud’ (which of course sounds perfectly OK in its context).

At other times, the bow movements are slightly longer, and you can hear the note pitches.

During the triplets / trebles, his bow stays on the string, and most certainly does not leave it, as spiccato bowing would do.

I did a video some years ago, and slowed it down, and it bears out all that I’ve said above.

Referred to as "Cat-sneezes" in this earlier thread: https://thesession.org/discussions/3147
Lots of excellent tips that I remember reading at the time, and 12 years later I think I’ve nearly got it. Also here: https://thesession.org/discussions/8870 Some of these excellent postings are from people who no longer inhabit this site. I found this clip from Bruce MacGregor very helpful; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfwReZUXgAI