fiddle string preferences

fiddle string preferences

I am a beginner fiddle player. I am wondering if people here would be willing to share which type (steel, synthetic or gut) and which brand(s) of strings they use for their fiddles, and why. I have read previous discussions, but many of them are several years old. I would also appreciate a discussion of why people choose to use a different type/brand for their E string. Thanks!

Re: fiddle string preferences

I use Eudoxa gut strings. And even when i played on steel strings, i used a eudoxa top E.
I tried every string over a afew years untill i found what i was looking for. Yes it was espensive, but worth every penny. Yes Eudoxa are expensive but thay are worth it for me.
I will use other gut strings at a pinch even the occasional synthetic if im stuck , but i try to keep good selection of spares. Cheers

I would suggest using Dominants, not because I use them, but because they are a - Go To - standard - reasonably priced - readily available - string and used by all abilities including "professional" players. Whilst you are at an early stage concentrate on your playing not on string choice, that comes 10-40 years later when you’re too lazy to practice any more and want to improve by just spending money 😉

…and strings haven’t changed much in the last few decades, so even old comments and threads will still be mostly as accurate now as when they were written.

I have been using Dominants for years on my fiddle and my viola. Every so often I get carried away and try something else, but I always go back. I do, howevere, use a Pirastro Olive E to give a slightly less shrill tone at the top.

This might be of interest: a chart someone put together indicating the sound of different strings:

https://www.sharmusic.com/Pages/How-To/Strings/Strings-Chart/Violin-String-Chart/

Helicore medium
Good price, good sound, last long…

Posted by .