Session Fatigue

Session Fatigue

I started playing ITM with a local session a couple of times a month a few years ago. I liked the session a lot when I was beginning, but have grown fatigued from it recently. It seems that we play the same standard sets pretty much at each session without much variation. This session also has a tune book/ebook, that is great for new members, but it seems like it has become like a bible of sorts. If I try to play something new or dust something off I sometime get shot some dirty looks if not everyone knows it (or can’t find it in time). The session is very welcoming, but it seems like it sort of caters to “the lowest common denominator” at times. I am one of the younger regulars and probably have more time to learn tunes, but it is frustrating not getting a chance to play them. I sometimes go to other sessions to get a different variety but it is hard to do that regularly because it requires a good amount of travel. I am not a session “leader” so I am not sure what I can do to change the session itself. Has anyone encountered some similar fatigue and have any suggestions to keep it fun for me?

Re: Session Fatigue

In my opinion, trying to change an established session is probably an uphill battle that’s not worth fighting in the first place. And a session where people are reading from sheet music is not a session where you want to be once you’re past the absolute beginner stage.

My suggestion would be to gather a few of the musicians who are on the same page as yourself and start your own session if there are enough of you. You could hold it in a house if you want to keep it private. Of course, forming a breakaway faction might leave some of your current session mates feeling snubbed if they’re not invited - it’s a tough line to tread.