A question about composing

A question about composing

Hello Sorry if it seems like I am flooding the session with discussions, but again I’m still a beginner and have a lot
of questions. Anyway are there any specific notes I should use to give a tune a scary or mysterious tone.
Thanks πŸ™‚

Re: A question about composing

If you’re a fiddler who can dondoubke stops, minor 2nds. Also, anything in C minor will get the effect you want. I’m
told by a composer friend it’s considered the syicide key.

If you’re looking for scary, or an ominous feel, minor keys are probably the best way to go. Especially a true minor (three flats) as opposed to dorian mode (two flats). Cminor especially has that dark quality about it.

Sorry should have specified I’m a whistler.

Kellie, I would suggest learning some musical theory. You need to understand the different keys, and the notes that each key has. Learn your scales, learn arpeggios. You need to understand music before you compose, so that you’re not asking people how to write your tunes.

Your probably right but I am in a choir and I do understand some music theory. However learning more would probably be better that just throwing a bunch of notes into an ABC program and tweaking as I go.

Here is the Reel I was working on.

X:1
T:Cricket in the choir room
M:4/4
C:Austin Mitchell
K:D
GA|:BEED EGFG | EGAB AGED | BEED EDEG | GABA GEGA |
|BEED EDFG | EGBd AGEG| BEED EGFG | BAFD EFE2:|
|:Bdfa edab | agfd geef | Bdfa dBgf |agef ede2 |
|Bdfg edba | edfe dfga | gded BFAE | DFAB GFG2:|