Ornamentation on Whistles

Ornamentation on Whistles

Hi all

I am a self-taught whistle player, and the only real instruction i have ever used is a YouTube video on how to play the scale. Ever since then, i have just found tunes on this website and learned them (only about 4), taking breaths while playing when i think it fits the melody and using a lot of embellishments that I use while playing my GHBs (these include grace notes and taps, sometimes a combination of both and when on F sharp, i sometimes use the pibroch embellishment “dare”).

On G I see advanced whistle players playing an A grace note (I don’t know if that’s what you call it in Irish music) and then in quick succession a tap on G as an embellishment. I have used this.

But the question I want to ask is if there are any strict rules regarding ornamentation on the whistle, and if there are, if there is some sort of book or tutorial I can learn them from? You might see that I have opened a discussion recently on flutes, I plan on buying one and I know there are specific embellishments (maybe very similar to the whistle?), but I feel I need to understand the whistle fully before I move on.

Any answers are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Re: Ornamentation on Whistles

You have a good start on the pipes. Cuts and taps are used a lot in the music to break space between notes. In fact, the reason flutes and whistles in this do so was originally to imitate the uilleann pipes.

Strict rules? Eh, not SO much. A popular ornament, which sounds like you might be describing on the G, is called a roll. Basically, a roll takes the space of three eighth notes in a tune. It done by playing the note itself, then cutting once and tapping once, effectively playing the note three times. A google search of “tin whistle roll” will yield useful results, likely.

Not sure what a “dare” is.

Here’s a webpage that explains some the ornamentation: http://www.rogermillington.com/siamsa/brosteve/twiddlybits1.html