How to pick the correct tune key

How to pick the correct tune key

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here and I hope this ain’t a duplicated one but I couldn’t find a relevant topic.

I recently started playing the tin whistle with help from online sources (Brother Steve is amazingly helpfull ๐Ÿ™‚ ). But now I start to get tunes without any form of musical notation/tabs mentioned and a link to this site.

So I am looking at the Tunes overview but do not know which tunes to pick key wise.

In example: The Dawning of the Day (https://thesession.org/tunes/1441) has tunes in Dmaj, Gmaj, Amix,…

I have a High D tin whistle so here I tend to go for Dmaj (assuming this is the right choice).

Now my question is… What to pick for a High D whistle if Dmaj is not available in the keys of a specific tune?

Thanks in advance ๐Ÿ™‚

Re: How to pick the correct tune key

If you finger the top hole open you get C#, so you get

D E F# G A B C# d
which is the D Major scale.

But if you start on different notes you get different scales:

E F# G A B C# d e (E dorian)

A B C# d e f# g a (A Mixolydian)

B C# d e f# g a b (B minor)

Now, finger C natural using oxx ooo, oxx oox or what have you. Now you can get:

D E F# G A B C d (D Mixolydian)

G A B C d e f# g (G Major)

A B C d e f# g a (A dorian)

Now there are other possibilities too, they’re just not as common, such as

C d e f# g a b c (C Lydian, as in Rakish Paddy) (the Lydian mode is very common in old Scottish tunes)

Once you have figured out which setting is in a key or mode that is feasible on a D whistle, for which Richard’s explanations are helpful, the next thing to look at is the range of the tune.

Your bottom note is D and your highest note for most purposes is b (near the top of the second octave). Tunes that go lower or higher than these notes will require special treatment.