Changing Attitudes To Irish Traditional Music

Changing Attitudes To Irish Traditional Music

After 40 years of playing Irish Trad I have finally come to the determination that Irish Trad is now becoming very stuck up, not just with many players but many listeners as well . I am sorry if that offends, but after 40 years, it is a very matured determination . I started playing in the mid 70s when it wasn’t just as fashionable to be into ‘trad’ as it is today, and yes we all knew those certain players who had attitude back then, but they were few and far between. However, in Ireland today it is fast becoming the norm rather than the exception, even with some novice players.

When I started playing in sessions, there was craic, banter, fun and laughter as well as manners and common courtesy . During a session older players, for example the likes of Lesslie Bingham, would advise and pass on tips, tunes and stories. Music was played and shared by all, there would be singing (which is now scorned upon in many sessions) and even dance . This was all mixed up in a magic, a melting pot of entertainment, which at times may have deviated from the session but never took away from it ..Its seems those days are long gone, replaced today by conservative political correctness at best , or pure snobbery at worst !

Playing last week in a session was perhaps the breaking point for me. I listened to a young lady on a fiddle asking another to put their’s down..it was putting her off..I was flabbergasted … when I put my flute down to go to the toilet, the same young girls mother commandeered my seat …and wasn’t for moving… she spent the next 3/4 of an hour telling the daughter what to play next and both took virtual control of the session..I went to the bar.