When is a tune ready for an outing at a session?

When is a tune ready for an outing at a session?

I wonder if any experienced session-goers have strategies for deciding when a tune which they think they have learnt is ready to be played at a session. It’s great to learn and introduce new tunes, but I find sometimes a tune I thought was ready isn’t quite there, and if no-one else knows it well, it can end in disaster. I’ve had this happen a few times. I’m not that experienced myself and after playing in sessions for about 2 years still find the scene nerve-wracking, which of course doesn’t help!
I have tried playing new tunes through several times and recording them, but the fact is that practising at home and playing (or almost performing) in a session environment are very different experiences.

Re: When is a tune ready for an outing at a session?

You can always wait until someone else starts it although that can often take long enough.
It’s always a challenge to introduce a lesser known tune to a session and you can often just end up playing it alone.
Perhaps a solution would be to ask if some of the other players know it too?

Thanks Johnny, that’s probably a good idea, though I find when I ask many senior players if they know a tune the response is usually along the lines of "I probably do but play it and if I know it I’ll join in".