I am left handed and am learning the whistle with left hand on the bottom, bad or no?

I am left handed and am learning the whistle with left hand on the bottom, bad or no?

One of the first tutorial vids I watched said if left handed then put the left on the bottom but in hindsight it makes no difference does it.

I read that the issue comes if you want to play flute or instruements like that.

I cant imagine I would want to do that but I also didnt imagine I would play flute when I started playing fiddle a few years ago ๐Ÿ™‚.

I cant imagine a reason I would want to play other wind instruments though.

Thoughts?

Re: I am left handed and am learning the whistle with left hand on the bottom, bad or no?

It makes no difference to whistle playing.

If you want to play a flute, you’ll need a left-handed flute. That severely limits your options. Personally I would advise changing. There’s just no reason in favour of playing left handed.

Posted by .

Re: I am left handed and am learning the whistle with left hand on the bottom, bad or no?

I am too. It really doesn’t matter. I play with 2 guys who play lefty flute. If you want a lefty flute get a Tipple. They play fine and are cheap. He’ll make a lefty for ya. Just never, ever take up the pipes.

Trivial side note: Donncha O’Briain played lefty, it seems. If you don’t know who that is look him up.

I suppose it depends whose bottom your hand is upon.

Posted by .

Mary Bergin plays whistle with left hand at bottom.