Bouzouki strap recommendation

Bouzouki strap recommendation

My left upper trap and neck are getting sore where my strap cuts across my shoulder, especially when I play my zook in standing. Has anyone had any luck with alternatives to standard straps? Harnesses or waist straps?

Re: Bouzouki strap recommendation

I’m going to assume you tried a quality, wide, padded guitar strap….

Never seen a waist strap or harness myself. I have seen guitars mounted to stands in front of the player, in playing position. Useful when looping multiple instruments, and moving between instruments… but that’s another bag to lug and kind-of a major set up.

-Have you looked at your positioning/positioning of zouk? Can you make adjustments? More vertical positioning perhaps, of the zouk…
-Could also try some regular stretching/head-neck rotation…etc…

I started playing the round back Greek bouzouki and found that a classical guitar strap which goes from around your neck to around the back of the body and then hooks into the sound hole worked very well to solve the problem of the round back constantly slipping away from me. I realise that is not your problem but it could also work as a good alternative to a standard strap.

My strap is three inches wide (78mm). I know that’s not what you asked!, but I’ve never had the issues you describe (except with a banjo). I’ve never seen one used in person, but there are guitar style harnesses available like this one https://neotechstraps.com/guitar-support-harness.html or http://www.slingerstraps.com/harness-strap-guitar-strap.html or http://www.musiciansfriend.com/accessories/slider-straps-dual-shoulder-strap

I use to experience a lot of discomfort as you described and tried many different straps (padded, unpadded, leather, fabric, etc.) However, I did find a conventional strap that solved the problem made by Lakota Leathers. Very supple and comfortable. The only kind I use now for all of my fretted instruments.