Universities/Colleges offering post-grad studies in Traditional Irish Music

Universities/Colleges offering post-grad studies in Traditional Irish Music

Hello,

I’m American, I’m about to complete my Bachelor’s degree, and I’ve been strongly considering studying Irish Traditional Music academically in Ireland. I did the Blás summer school at University of Limerick last year, and gathered plenty of information on their particular program, but I was wondering what others’ opinions were, and what other schools out there might offer such a program. I understand Cork has a comparable one, as well as some smaller colleges.

I’ve heard varying things on these programs, ranging from "best decision of my life" to "a way to balk foreigners for their non-resident tuition rate." I’m hoping to get others’ opinions/experiences in some of these programs.

I’ll note that the main goal I have for this isn’t necessarily career-based… I have a technical degree to fall back on, and truth be told I’d probably go back to an IT job once finished. The primary goal is to spend a year abroad relatively cheaply on a student visa, be immersed in the music, absorb as much as I can, and do it while I’m still moderately young and relatively unattached. I understand that there are other ways to accomplish this, but focusing on a degree seems to be fairly "streamlined" and economical.

Thanks,
Chris

Re: Universities/Colleges offering post-grad studies in Traditional Irish Music

Look into a working holiday visa as well, which would give you that year away and not cost you tuition. Heading to a trad hotspot, perhaps setting up regular lessons and hitting as many sessions, festivals, concerts, and workshops as possible might be a different way to go.