My hair is slipping

My hair is slipping

Seems lately I’ve noticed that the hair on my bow has less "tooth" than it used to. I’ve noticed more of a tendency for the bow to skid on the strings, such that quick notes, especially on the e string, don’t sound before I’m on to the next note. To be sure, I’m playing faster than I once did, but still …

Here’s my question for TheSession’s fiddle brain trust: does bow hair lose its bite after being played a while? Is it necessary to rehair one’s bow at regular intervals? If so, how often do you rehair?

I’ve been playing pretty much every day for about 4 years on the same hair. I’ve tried all different kinds of rosin and strings and I have 5 different fiddles, but only the one (good quality) bow. It’s unlikely I can blame this problem on the rosin, the strings, or the instruments. So, is it me that’s slipping, or my hair?

Next time I have an opportunity, I’ll try out some different bows to see if I notice a difference in "bite".

Re: My hair is slipping

Could be rosin build up on the strings. Clean ‘em and see. Could be rosin build up on the hair (though that’s a little less likely.) You could also try Rogaine. πŸ™‚

Yea, tell me about it , you think YOU have problems — mine’s falling out!

There’s your answer, Scott, get Jack to send you some of his fallen-out hair in the post, give it a wash, cut it in half, and you can rehair your bow with it πŸ˜€

hahahahaha… wait! S’not funny!

I am quite convinced that bow hair does lose it’s grip after a lot of playing. Most players never experience this because they break hairs and eventually have so little that they have to have the lot replaced.

If, as it seems, you are like me and even after regular hard playing the hair is still intact after a number of years the hair becomes so smooth that it won’t hold rosin.

A rehair should do the trick. Trust me I’m a fiddler!