too many of the same kind ?

too many of the same kind ?

In many sessions that I visited there was a really big group of flute and whistle players. I, as a flute by myself, get sometimes a bit worried, that my instrument is too common ? From classical flute playing in school orchestras I know this problem, that there often too many flute players, compared too strings and brass.
How is your experience with this topic ? Do you think there are somewhat disproportional many flute and whistle player ?
Do you think it is really possible, that an imbalance in the instrument distribution can be a serious problem for sessions ?

One of the reasons, I started playing around with the mandolin was definitively, to have a backup, if this “problem” gets too serious.

Re: too many of the same kind ?

There’s nothing as nice as a bunch of flutes (or fiddles) together, assuming they are all played reasonably well in tune and in time with each other. Very flutey sessions are often my favourite kind. Try not to over-think it too much, and if you love playing the flute don’t play it any less just because lots of other people you know play it too. By all means learn to play the mandolin too if it appeals to you (it is nice to have those notes below bottom D, and to be able to do double stops), but don’t play it just because nobody else at your session plays it!

A true session (not a performance) is just about having tunes. I’ve been in a session with 10 pipers (90%), or 3 boxes (100-75%), or 10 fiddles (80%). If the tunes are good and the people are in good humor, it could be 30 mandolins and still be great. Personally I think nothing sounds better than a group of fiddles.