Perpetual Beginner

Perpetual Beginner

Does anyone have any advice for the perpetual beginner?

I started playing a B/C box back in July of 2012. A year or so later I switched to C#/D box and still feel like I only know maybe 30 tunes solidly and 50 tunes at all. Most sessions I try to attend are spent listening because I either don’t know the tune or it’s played much faster than I’m able to. I probably picked a bad time to start getting into the music while also starting a family but I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to get out of the perpetual beginner stage and into a more intermediate, and once the kids move out, advanced stage.

Cheers,
Sean

Re: Perpetual Beginner

You just keep working at it. I know of no other way! Listen, read, play, and listen. Did I mention listen? Commit yourself. I have been committed and it worked for me! Anybody who plays ITM should be committed.

Posted by .

Maybe you can find some inspiration from Jerone’s recent post on Ambition.

Posted by .

You’ve picked the best time in your life for playing trad. Just stick with it and follow Gobby’s advice. Be sure to start your children on a proper course of playing ITM too.

How to get out of the beginner stage?

Regular lessons
DAILY, focused, deliberate practice. An hour per day, more if possible.
Listen to Irish music a lot. Hour or two per day.
Focus on your practice rather than on the sessions for now. You need basics more than you need the social aspects. 2 hours in a practice room is much more valuable for a "perpetual beginner" than 2 hours in a pub.
Stay disciplined.

That’s the crux of the matter right there. If you want to get better fast (relatively speaking) this is what you gotta do. There are no easy answers. Now the trick is to fit it all in and the family stuff too. Barring that, just do what you can and be patient.

Check out the story of Kitty Hayes if you’re not familiar with it already.

Posted by .