Stagefright

Stagefright

Anyone have any suggestions for tackling stagefright and building confidence playing for an audience? I have been playing fiddle for about 20 years. Many times I put it down for months when discouraged, but in the last 3-4 years I’ve played regularly. In other words, I don’t have 20 years worth of skill. Though people tell me I play well, I’m clearly one of those players who is very hard on myself and likely plays a little better than I think I do. I go to regular sessions and in the last year have been playing solo or with small groups for informal gigs like parties, dances and local community events. I really enjoy playing out and want to do so on a regular basis. The problem is I get scared to death when I have to play in front of an audience or on a stage. I make myself do it because I’ll never overcome it if I don’t but the fear can inhibit my playing and makes my face turn bright red (so now everyone else knows I’m nervous too. Yuck) I would love any suggestions or advice

Re: Stagefright

Your fiddle career sounds like mine on the flute - I’ve playing long enough, but pretty off and on, not 20 years worth.

I don’t have much problem playing before an audience though. The toughest thing I ever did was playing solo recently at a funeral. But that was more fighting back the tears, and I just about succeded, so people congratulated me after, etc.

Tell you what I did before I gave a research talk to my department recently - this will only apply if you’re reasonably physically fit. I was pooing myself for days beforehand. So one hour before I was due "on" I went and did a 5 mile run. Cleared out all the adrenaline stress molecules and I felt very clear thinking and calm. The talk went really well.

Don’t know if it applies to fiddling but that worked for me.