Banjo Sore Right Wrist

Banjo Sore Right Wrist

Hi all,

Please could you tell me if, when beginning to play banjo, you had a sore wrist or hand? Or rather a weak aching?

Did this go away the more you played (I’ve only played less than 40 times), or did your teacher suggest you adopted some sort of exercise of some sort?

Any advice greatly appreciated
Thanks

Re: Banjo Sore Right Wrist

Sorry for my english hope you’ll understand though… I think what I’ll say is obvious but its my experience and who knows, it could help you… When I started playing guitar, and had to play fast, I had muscular sore in the right hand, because I tightened too much the plectrum, at the point that I couldn’t hold the plectrum properly no more, it was like a big cramp. I didn’t change the way of handing it but with practice, I managed to relax the right hand with better precision, and the sore never hapened again. It reminds me when I went to ski for the first time, too much tension and energy the first days, and big muscular exertion; then you go relaxing and using less energy making more precise, soft and effective movements. In my little experience, on different instruments, trying to focus on playing relax was always very beneficial, easy to say quite hard to do…

Posted by .