“Undroppable” banjo pick

“Undroppable” banjo pick

I’ve been playing tenor banjo for 30+ years but have recently experienced difficulties in holding a pick. I can finger-pick efficiently enough (legacy of classical guitar training) at moderate speeds, but banjo’s metal strings tear heck out of plucking finger-tips. Once upon a time I had come across a procedure for using surgical tubing fitted over the right hand index finger to serve as an "undroppable" pick (procedure used by [e.g.] Johnny Keenan and Tony Sullivan) but I don’t remember the details. Questions: do any banjo players out there [1] recall the procedure for creating such a rig [2] actually use it?
Many thanks
Bill Black

Posted by .

Re: “Undroppable” banjo pick

Small bit of tape around top of it an cut of the excess that’s what I did . or bite the top of it to make 1 or 2 grooves on it won’t it drop then

I seem to remember what Johnny Keenan used was referred to as a ‘thimble’ a piece of tubing over the index finger cut off at a 45 degree angle , like an old time quill pen. I tried it, couldn’t get on with it so went back to the old Dunlop heavy pick - but you might have better luck

Tony "Scully" Sullivan shows how to make a thimble in his banjo tutor. There’s not much to them, bit of plastic tubing, slice at angle, see if it works. All the different diameters and materials will make for a lot of research though. I tried various types of pipe and could never get one that worked worth a darn. They’re supposed to make trebles/triplets easier, flatpicking in general is a bit more difficult. I read somewhere that Scully had given up on the things and just uses a flatpick these days too…