Bouzouki lessons…?

Bouzouki lessons…?

I’m a bit over a year into my self-taught quest to learn Irish tunes on bouzouki. I’ve reached the point where I think I’d benefit from some one-on-one lessons: someone to observe, evaluate, critique, and hopefully give me tools to improve my right hand technique for tone, speed, ornamentation, etc. Also to provide some goals and practice discipline to approach those goals.

Problem is, I’m located in a small-ish US city not exactly known as a Mecca for Irish trad let alone bouzouki. I’ve gleaned a lot from YouTube as well as OAIM’s excellent bouzouki backup course, but again I’m ready for more personal instruction of some kind, with a focus on playing tunes. Some options I’ve considered include 1) finding a local guitar/mando teacher willing to adapt his/her teaching discipline to a related instrument [I have one possibility in mind]; 2) finding an actual bouzouki teacher willing to give lessons via Skype.

(I might add that the notion of formal instruction is pretty foreign to me - for better or worse, I’ve always been a diehard self-taught musician. But with the wisdom of age I’m coming around to admit there are other options!)

I’d welcome any suggestions from the Mustard community — how have others approached the problem of intensively learning of an instrument when local teachers for that instrument aren’t available?

And, does anyone have actual recommendations for a long-distance bouzouki tutor based on my objectives?

Thanks,
Jon

Re: Bouzouki lessons…?