Concertina purchase question

Concertina purchase question

I have been playing a very nice inexpensive Stagi for a couple of years- it was nicely tuned and regulated by the Buttonbox in Massachussets USA, is the instrument I have been learning on with an excellent teacher who checked it out before I bought it and had BB do their magic, and is a very playable instrument. But the time has come to consider a step up. I am looking for advice on a good long term instrument that won’t require me to remortgage the house. 🙂 As much as I’d like it, Herself will not tolerate buying one of the excellent German concertinas the are running around $7 grand US and don’t have an Irish elderly relative who might bequeeth me the family Jeffries.

I would most appreciate advice from the the more experienced players as to what concertina makers would be worth exploring? I know BB has their in house brand which seems well received by several players I’ve talked to.

Thanks for any assistance?

Re: Concertina purchase question

What about something in the middle like this:
https://theboxplace.co.uk/product/lachenal40me/

Not top end but not one of the “hybrids”

I’ve played the button box ones and they are great. You will find them a big improvement over a Stagi.

Posted by .

I like the Morse, from BB, very much. Light, good sound, good volume, plays with good response. The people at the BB are great to deal with.

I agree with David ("Hi, David"). I started with a Rochelle and within a month I knew I wanted something better, so I got a Morse Ceili. I’ve been quite pleased with it. I’ve been playing it for 4 or 5 years. You can probably resell it for a good price if you decide to upgrade even further.

Email: jthomas@thomasconcertinas. com. Phone: 240-522-7631. Post: Thomas Concertinas. 504 E Oldtown Rd. Cumberland, MD. 21502. USA.