Keyboard beginner - resources?

Keyboard beginner - resources?

I’ve just got my hands on a melodica, but I’m a keyboard newbie and I’m wondering how best to get myself proficient in the correct fingering, and other essentials. I’m a bit crap at learning three-dimensional skills from books, I’d prefer video. (Ideally, actual lessons, but I’m skint.) Can anyone recommend a good tutorial resource?

Posted by .

Re: Keyboard beginner - resources?

There seems to be plenty of info on Youtube Nell. Just type in Melodica tutorials and take your pick.
Alex.

For the fundamentals of fingering, you’d do just as well if not better to look up piano tutorials - there’ll be more out there, especially handling the finer points of technique. Just learning to finger the relevant scales and arpeggios will set you on the right track.

Bear in mind that there are two types of melodica: those that have a keyboard like a piano (or RH of a piano accordion), designed to be played single-handed and those that have their black and white keys pivoted in opposing directions, designed for the RH to play the white keys and the LH, the black. I am assuming that the one in question is of the former type - the latter seems rather impractical and I think of it more as a toy than a serious instrument (although I have no doubt that there are some players out thre that could dispel my prejeudice at a stroke).

@CreadurMawnOrganig:I am assuming that the one in question is of the former type - the latter seems rather impractical and I think of it more as a toy than a serious instrument (although I have no doubt that there are some players out thre that could dispel my prejeudice at a stroke).