Modern ‘traditional’ composers

Modern ‘traditional’ composers

I asked a question about a tune and found out it was written by a member of Kennedy’s Kitchen. Who are some of the better composers/tune writers working right now?

Re: Modern ‘traditional’ composers

Liz Carroll

(Trying to think if there’s another living composer I know two dance tunes by. Well, Jim Payne, but I think of him as a brilliant songwriter, and it’s mostly a special case I know the tunes.) (Oh right, I’m still alive. But would not put myself forward for this category!)

Liz Knowles.
There are tons.

Posted by .

Michael Macgoldrick
Adam Sutherland
Aidan O’rourke

Peadar O’Riada

Posted by .

Maybe Phil Cunningham doesn’t count as a "modern" composer, but his name popped up on a lot of recordings I listened to when I started playing this music. More "recent" names (say, during the last 15-20 years?) are Diarmuid Moynihan and of course Brian Finnegan.

Paddy Fahey, Josephine Keegan, and Tommy Peoples are still kicking (although, I don’t believe any of them are actively composing these days - but I could be wrong)

Charlie Lennon is pretty prolific with compositions. John Carty has composed a good few. Niall Vallely also comes to mind.

You might also check out https://irishtunecomposers.weebly.com/alphabetical-list.html

Thanks for the responses. I’ve always liked the music but didn’t really start learning more deeply until about a year ago. I knew a few big names but not much beyond that. To me, one of the great things about ITM (and other traditions) is that there is always more to learn so it never gets old. If that sounds like something a teacher might say it’s true. I’m in my 33rd year and literature reminds me of music in many many ways.

I thought of a few of the ones above. I did not see Emer Mayock, Colin Farrell, Alan Doherty or Brian Finnegan of Flook.