Chicagoans - where to stay if I want to play tunes?

Chicagoans - where to stay if I want to play tunes?

I’m taking a trip to Chicago in March/April and am going to be there on a Sunday. If I want to check out all the sessions on that day, where would be a sensible place to stay for getting back late/getting around town. I won’t have a car but have budget for Ubers and public transport et cetera.

Thanks for reading and hope to play with some of you soon!

Fred

Re: Chicagoans - where to stay if I want to play tunes?

Hi Fred: I’m very new to the scene and haven’t been to any of the sessions you’ll find in the link below, but I think the posting is about as up-to-date as you can get for Chicago (though I’d love to be corrected by other members). I’ve heard very high praise (from someone in the know) about Kevin Henry’s playing. He’s getting up there in years, so I wonder if he might merit a pilgrimage to the South Side while you’re in town? I’m not sure that session locations would be the best criteria for picking a place to stay, since they seem to be pretty scattered. If you want to shoot me a message when you have a date nailed down, I’d be happy to ask around and do a little more investigating for you.

https://jimmykeane.com/sessions

Posted by .

I go to the Lanigan’s session whenever I visit family in Illinois. There are plenty of very good Airbnb rooms in that area, so very convenient.

And you will not find a kinder, more welcoming bunch of folks. Oh, and the music is great. They do it right.

Cheif O’Neill is buried in the cemetery nearby, so make the pilgrimage.

I’ve been waiting for a real Chicago person to answer. I live nearby so if we are staying we usually stay with my daughter.
I wouldn’t think there is a convenient place to stay unless you know what sessions you want to go to. They are really spread out.