Recommended Listening - Pipe Albums

Recommended Listening - Pipe Albums

As I’m finally starting to build a real repertoire of tunes, I’m starting with some old favorites from recordings that I’ve been listening to for the last several years. But as I was going through which tracks from which albums, I realized that I don’t have very many pipe recordings.

I don’t have much of a preference other than something that’s in standard keys. Learning tunes from recordings isn’t very helpful if you can’t play along with the recording. It’s difficult to assess your accuracy that way. Thank you for any recommendations.

Re: Recommended Listening - Pipe Albums

Any of Gordon Duncan’s albums must be high on your list. But might not be in your preferred keys unless you are in the usual GHB keys.

Sorry guys, I meant Uilleann Pipes. I guess the smallpipes would be acceptable too. Does GHB stand for "Great Highland Bagpipes"? And don’t the Uilleann Pipes typically play in G Maj, D Maj, and their relative Minors and Dorians? Those are the keys I meant.

To put it more in context, this is also for understanding how the articulations and ornaments are supposed to sound, for my concertina technique.

So you want concert pitched pipe recordings.
I prefer the flat pipes, but Joey Abarta’s Swimming Against the Falls and Preston Howard’s The Primrose Glen are great.
Can’t beat Leo Rowsome and Willie Clancy as well.

Posted by .

If it’s lovely solid piping you want, the late great Liam O’Flynn is great as a starting point. It’s worth listening to his solo stuff as well as his playing as a member of Planxty. Planxty’s recording of their live gig in Vicar Street in Dublin, and especially Liam’s piping, was what really got me into trad music in the first place.

Dunnp, Liam O’ Brien teaches several Willy Clancy tunes on the OAIM, so thank you for checking in with that! I think I already know two actually, so I’ll be excited to look through his recordings! And umm… what are the "flat pipes"?