The Meaning of a "Very Generous Tip"?

The Meaning of a "Very Generous Tip"?

Warning: This post is about money. You have been notified.

Last night, after the contra dance, I decided to go back out for a double-shift of busking on concertina. In the short time that I was out, I received a mystery $100 tip. If I get one more $100 tip this year, I will have beaten last years record of "Four". So I’m left with the question, "What does this mean?". Over this last year, I’ve been opposed to posting this topic, for fear of risking offending someone, as I have before. So I apologize in advance, but my curiosity is peaked.

When I started playing music full-time, I had never received a $100 tip before. I think the record at the time was $40. So I never expected to receive anything more, ever. I think the first time I received a $100 tip was from a gentleman who requested "The Devil Went Down to Georgia" on fiddle. If I recall correctly, he actually bet me to play it. I was so taken aback when he pulled out a hundred dollar bill, I asked him if he was sober and he assured me that he was completely fine.

I’ve gotten several others since, for different known reasons. Of the eight that I’ve gotten since last year, only two of them have been mysteries. I’ve also received at least one for each of my instruments. So I don’t think it’s fair for me to say that these are all accidents, or people with questionable judgment. This must mean something, but what?

I’m not trying to brag or show off, I sincerely want to know what would prompt this kind of generosity. Are people watching me? Is my audience waiting on me? Am I actually appreciated, desired even? Or is it simply just that some people are that generous and kind? Or maybe some people are just so moved by music in general?

I don’t know, all I know is I’m doing everything in my power that I can to create something and give back. Thank you for any insights, and thank you for indulging me.