Not playing an instrument for a year?

Not playing an instrument for a year?

Basically I moved country in December let’s say, and I had to choose between bringing my fiddle and my accordion. I chose the fiddle, it is my #1 love. Anyways where I live now accordions are not easy to come by and also I have not had much money - any spare money I’ve had for music has gone towards maintaining the fiddle. As a result I have not played accordion since December and I probably won’t be playing it again until I can afford one, let alone find one, which I would hope is November-ish.

I had been playing for nearly 5 years up to that point and was pretty skilled at it. I fear that when I pick it up I will barely be able to pump out a tune and it will take me months to get back to where I was, and there’ll be some tunes that I’ll probably never play again on it.

So just wondering what are people’s experiences with playing an instrument after not having played it for a year or more, despite having been skilled at it? Did you have the same spark when you picked it up, was it hard to get back to the same level, did you realise that it was a thing of the past and moved on? Discuss :)

Re: Not playing an instrument for a year?

You mightn’t ride a bike for a long period or swim a stroke but once you’ve learnt certain motor skills, I don’t think you ever forget them, barring some brain injury or the like. Sure you’ll be rusty and it’ll take a bit of time to get back to where you were on the box and probably beyond it, but I wouldn’t be too bothered. I’d reckon the more important thing is to keep playing a few tunes on whatever instrument, in your case the fiddle.

Posted .

I hadn’t been playing much for well over a year because I had health issues. My heart wasn’t really into it. I still picked up instruments from time to time though.