Recommend a good tutorial for how to bow a jig

Recommend a good tutorial for how to bow a jig

I have not played many (or really any) jigs on the fiddle. I’m basically a beginner at it and my only experience of fiddle is hacking away at an American old-time jam for a decade where we pretty much only play tunes in 2/4 or 4/4 or 3/4 time. So, now that I have access to a good beginner slow-session, I’d like to maybe give this Irish fiddling a try. Can you recommend a good tutorial video to show me how to bow a jig properly? Something that isn’t totally lame and horrible (why am I so good at finding videos that sound like classical musicians who have no clue??), but also that isn’t so fast you can’t tell what the heck is going on?

Re: Recommend a good tutorial for how to bow a jig

The Kevin Burke DVDs "Learn to Play Irish Fiddle" (vol 1 and 2) are a good resource. The way I first learned was to maybe play the first three notes separate and then slur the last three, or the other way around depending on the tune. I don’t remember in the KB DVD how he teaches it, but in a workshop I took, he would sometimes slur the first 4 and bow the last two separate.

The Matt Cranitch and Pete Cooper books are often mentioned for learning to approach the Irish styles.

Posted by .

I like both the Cranitch and Cooper books. I think it’s Pete Cooper’s book that has a nice visual of the zig-zag pattern of long -short-short for playing jigs- it’s very helpful for people getting their feet wet into Irish music.

I actually have the Cranitch book. I don’t have any kind of device to play the CD that came with it, though, and on the page about jigs he suggests listening to the CD. His description for bowing the reel is really helpful, but there’s not a lot of description for the jig. Does he intend for you to bow DUD DUD? If so, how do you do that? Please be nice. I’ve never had lessons.