Anyone else notice that the Orange Order in Episode 5 of the Channel 4 sitcom "Derry Girls" appear to be playing "McAlpine’s Fusiliers"?

Anyone else notice that the Orange Order in Episode 5 of the Channel 4 sitcom "Derry Girls" appear to be playing "McAlpine’s Fusiliers"?

First of all, am I right? And secondly, could anyone with a better knowledge of the origins of the melody of that song maybe shed some light as to how likely it is that this is a correct use of this melody. I know a lot of the Scottish song melodies tend to be in Irish songs with completely different words and vice-versa; I have very little knowledge of the music of the Orange Order and how likely this music is consistent with what they’d be likely to play.

Re: Anyone else notice that the Orange Order in Episode 5 of the Channel 4 sitcom "Derry Girls" appear to be playing "McAlpine’s Fusiliers"?

Very unlikely. The tune is a "traditional air" usually associated with Sarsfield (1st Earl of Lucan) a Jacobite general at the Battle of the Boyne and is used for the song Jackets Green. I knew it as this before the Dubliners popularised McAlpines.

Re: Anyone else notice that the Orange Order in Episode 5 of the Channel 4 sitcom "Derry Girls" appear to be playing "McAlpine’s Fusiliers"?

If this is the scene in question then yes, I confirm that the tune the band is playing is a variant of the tune to which McAlpine’s Fusiliers is sung.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7meZZeYllo

~ 0:21 onwards