The Lowland and Borders Piping Society

The Lowland and Borders Piping Society

I’ve hovered around this group since I started playing Borderpipes a few years ago. I’ve been to a couple of their events and I’ve got a few of the publications and discs. It’s a worthy cause and mostly I have had a bit of a laugh, played some tunes and enjoyed myself regardless. I have however been pretty fed up with seeing the same faces in the pictures at every event, a bunch of middle age small pipers and the fact that the forum, dead as it was is now a Facebook thing. That is something I will not do, no matter how much it might spite my face.

Is anyone here an active or hovering member of the LBPS? Does it really promote borderpipes? I’m not sure myself. None of the teaching events, and there were only 2 until the college of piping thing started includes borderpipes anymore. None of the regulars at any of the LBPS events, play borderpipes. Is it really just a smallpipers club for a few retired folk and borderpipes for the odd professional, tolerated as just that?

Re: The Lowland and Borders Piping Society

Hi Steve,
Yes, I know where you are coming from - i’m a distant member, haven’t been for quite a while.
Sign up for ‘Feis Rois’ tuition feisrois.org - bank holiday weekend end May in Ullapool, it’s a blast!, there are loads of other tuition days scattered around (like Highland Tradition ‘19 - search facebook) - all steered at learning tunes in a style suitable for sessions rather than the pipe band. Although classes are never border pipes - a class of border pipes would be harsh - the tuition is usually always on smallpipes out of necessity, but most attendants are borderpipers and the tutors are always top class - Gary West, Finn Moore, Stephen Blake, Fred Morrison, Angus McKenzie, Calum McCrimmon to a name but a few..

There are, I believe, a few members of said society who also frequent these discussions from time to time.