Killarney D brass whistle or Tony Dixon D brass dx 204

Killarney D brass whistle or Tony Dixon D brass dx 204

So…I’ve got less than $100 to spend. It might be time for a new whistle - a "professional" one - (or not). I’ve got a high D nickel and a high D brass Tony Dixon - both Trads; I like them very much! Unlike other whistles - of lesser cost - in my collection, my Dixons are in tune with themselves! ~ I recognize the physical differences between the Tony Dixon D solid / heavy brass dx 204 hand-finished whistle & the John Sindt-influenced Killarney D brass hand-made whistle. I can’t afford to by both … yet. I’m looking to upgrade to my next whistle. ~ My intended purpose is quiet, mellow solo playing, or playing with a recorded Celtic Harp as a backtrack. (Though I have a music degree, and I’ve been playing whistle as a hobby for years, I frankly don’t consider myself good enough to play in session - plus I have partial paralysis of the left hand and - most recently - an amputated fingertip on the right. That said, I can still make moderate tempo tunes sound … well … pleasantly musical.) So … if you had to choose … given my circumstances … which not-so-shinny new brass whistle would you choose and why? Does one have a better tuning joint than the other? Is one more intonationally true across octaves than the other? Does one clog more than the other? Is one more "durable" than the other? In short which would you consider "the better bang for the buck" and why? Esp interested in hearing how owners of both might compare them. In advance thanks for your input!

Re: Killarney D brass whistle or Tony Dixon D brass dx 204

I have a Tony Dixon Brass in D (not handmade nor tuneable) that I bought a few years ago, I find it looses it above top A and prefer a Generation that I’ve had for years which I tuned to play in D - I adjusted the head. If I was buying I’d go for the Killarney as I’ve heard they are good.