Good company. Good Irish session?

Good company. Good Irish session?

I realise there is no recipe for a well played session but there are inherent qualities which *help* make it happen. Are there not?
Here is my step into the no-man’s-land-quicksand of essential session ingredients;
Acoustic music
Familiarity & appreciation of a shared repertoire of tunes
Variation
Standard & spontaneous sets
Good use of ears
A desire to be in the company you’re in

I’m no expert so feel free to rip my recipe to itty-bitty pieces. That’s fair play. But do have a good session wherever you may find one.
;)
AB

Posted by .

Re: Good company. Good Irish session?

Someplace relatively quiet helps as well. I played at a pub in Phoenix last weekend that was so noisy I couldn’t hear the fiddle I was sitting next to.

I’d be interested to see why anyone would argue with any of that!

I enjoyed your company and our playing today Peter, so I hope Ben won’t feel too disappointed that I won’t argue with him this time.

Posted by .

Ahhhh…….(sigh)

PEACE!!!!

🙂

Actually, thinking about it Gobby, this seems to be the right thread (Good company. Good Irish session) for me to thank you.
As you might assume, it was life-changing for me, to find Sharon last year, and I would put today’s meeting - company and playing to be equally satisfying. Watching you and Sharon work together was intriguing, and I can only hope to somehow ‘catch-up’ a bit, and do more of it.

"did you hear that?……nothing!" 🙂

Yes, I think the right chemistry was there between the three of us Pete. I think the progress will be fast. For my part I am taking my fiddle in for therapy next week. I was ashamed of her today and hopefully next time she won’t be giving me the silent treatment.

Posted by .

I can’t help feeling that following this thread is to intrude on a private conversation.

Posted by .