Smallpipes

Smallpipes

Can anyone tell me about Fred Morrison A/D Bellows blown small pipes, or others? Are they tuneable. Do they play with other trad instruments, as in flutes and fiddles? Is there a reasonable learning curve for a flute player? I know nothing about them except that the few small pipe players I’ve come across ( a grand total of 2) couldn’t play in the keys we played in ( mostly 1 or 2 #’s). I am intrigued by them. Are there other makers with reasonable prices and wait times (I’ve only so much cash and so many years left in me)? Thanks for your advice!

Re: Smallpipes

Ross -

Probably a good idea to post your inquiry on the Dunsire Bagpipe Forum. You’ve asked several questions, all of which require some detail. On Dunsire you will get comprehensive answers, many of which are already in the archives.

My very brief take: The Morrison pipes have a decent/good reputation, and may be available without a wait period. I have no personal experience with them. Higher end smallpipes, e.g. Hamish & Fin Moore, Nate Banton, etc. wait time is approximately 1-to-2 years. Smallpipes are fine with fiddles and flutes, and entirely tunable. As to keys, they are problematic re: ITM. Buy them for STM, not ITM. The learning curve is quite doable.

Hi Ross,
Are you talking about Northumbrian smallpipes? If so (I would really like to learn them), it seems like, despite being a great instrument, it would be really difficult to find someone who can give lessons in the US. I’ve tried looking up variations of "Northumbrian smallpipes" and my state, and there are not really any relevant results. One of the first things you’ll get is a Kathryn Tickell introductory video and she is definitely not from here!

Apologies if these are not the smallpipes you’re talking about.