Beginner concertina follow-up question

Beginner concertina follow-up question

Hello All,
I recently asked for, and received, good advice on the subject of getting a decent beginner concertina; thanks to all those who responded. The subject of having two C# buttons came up and I still have a question about it; the company that I’m about to order from (McNeela in Dublin) said they can do a C# on the push 1st row and on the pull 2nd row. I did reach out to a very top experienced and helpful player who recommended getting them in the opposite layout, i.e. on the pull 1st row, push 2nd. So before I take the plunge I’m asking if it makes a huge difference if I have to go with McNeela’s layout? I’m sure it’s not the end of the world either way, but being a complete novice on the instrument I feel it would be silly not to ask for any help you can give me.

Much appreciate any thoughts, thank you!

Re: Beginner concertina follow-up question

I assume you are referring to a 30 button concertina. The rows run from left to right (i.e., the Accidentals row, the C row and the G row. The columns go up and down. So I assume you refer to the first (center-most) column, top (accidental) row on the right hand. Most people I know, me being one of them, prefer to have C#/C# (push/pull) on the first button (center-most). My preference for the second button in would be D#/D#.
McNeela’s should be able to switch the reeds around fairly easily to accommodate whatever you want.

Thanks, David, and yes you are correct, I am talking about those two buttons. I don’t think I have the option for a C#/C# but I will double check with them. If possible I will take those options - I must admit I’m surprised at the D# recommendation, which I would have thought was a seldom-used note. Goes to show exactly where I am in this learning curve :)