Choosing a low D whistle: 2019

Choosing a low D whistle: 2019

I am a relative novice to Irish trad music; 1 year bodhran and high whistle, both of which I play weekly with local session chums. I’ve played guitar, ukulele and mountain dulcimer for many years and live in the UK.

With increasing love for the lower register, I recently bought a Dixon low D high which in many respects is a good beginners’ low D. I’ve enough of an ear, though, to hear it’s weaknesses. Given that low whistles are so different in terms of breathing, octave difference and so on, I’d like to buy and learn to play a more musically accurate low D. I don’t need to play loud and my hands are on the small side. I know there are other threads on this topic, but some are over a decade old, and the craft of whistle making moves on. Any recommendations, please.

Re: Choosing a low D whistle: 2019

I’ve tried a couple of low D whistles and had difficulty covering the holes adequately - though my hands are probably standard size and shape. The one I ended up with, and find easier to play, is a wooden whistle by Phil Bleazey. I find I have to be a bit careful with air pressure in the upper octave in order to get clear notes, but it feels comfortable and has an attractive warm tone. IT has a tuning slide, so pitch can be adjusted as it warms up. I’d suggest trying one - or better still, try a few: a pal of mine also has one and I’m sure the sound is a bit better than mine, so maybe there’s some variability between individual instruments - as you would expect with something hand-made.

Posted by .

I recently bought a Kerry Chieftain Thunderbird Low D whistle after trying a friend’s, and have been very happy with it. Accurate pitch, lovely tone, easy to blow, and the bottom hand reach is not terribly difficult. Can wholeheartedly recommend them.

Posted by .

Just curious, what are the weaknesses with the Dixon Low D?