Putting swing into your fiddle

Putting swing into your fiddle

I’ve been playing for 4 years and would consider myself fairly decent. I haven’t had a teacher in ages but while watching the following video it dawned on me that my fiddle playing doesn’t have nearly as much swing as I enjoy hearing. Take a look

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-q_LvnI0yE

I know about slurring onto the downbeat which I try to do where appropriate and stuff, but my fiddle playing feels more "choppy", a la Scottish/Donegal style (despite being from Clare), with lots of triples and drones and double stops, maybe that’s been because I find it easier to play that, especially at pace, than huge continuous slurs and loads of rolls and cuts. But honestly, I prefer and love listening to fiddle music with tons of swing like Sliabh Luchra style and certain Clare/Galway styles.

What is the secret to it? I know trad is all about leaving your imprint on the playing style, but honestly, I wish my version of the Foxhunters sounded like this.

Re: Putting swing into your fiddle

Here’s my take, though not everybody would agree with me. Play your reels as if they were hornpipes. When you speed them up they will have the lift you’re talking about. Don’t push too hard to speed them up but let them speed up naturally. If you have a slow-downer you can hear the lift in the playing of the musicians you admire, from Sliabh Luchra and the wesht.
I lived in Clare for about twenty years all told and loved the local sessions and playing with the old guys.

//What is the secret to it? //

Lots of them!

If you just home in on that one video for the moment, you can see what’s helping to give the "swing."

You can grasp it better if you slow the speed to 75%. The accents are mainly on the down-bow (but not always).