Your mind on music: the curious path of internalizing irish tunes

Your mind on music: the curious path of internalizing irish tunes

I’ve been playing Irish music for about 18 years now. Started about age 40.. No previous fiddle or classical experience, etc. Self- taught for most part with comhaltas workshops thrown in here and there. From the start, following Matt cranitch ‘s advice in the orange book, I tried to get “ correct” fiddle bowing patterns under the fingers while avoiding sight reading dots but instead learning aurally ….I don’t sight read at all really. But, curiosly, it has only been in last two years or so that I have now noticed two things. 1. Learning tunes ( broken down bit by bit) has become much easier ( use tape recorder and dig pitch slow down until tune up to speed) and 2… suddenly I find I can actually ‘play’ or rehearse a tune in my head —- while driving the car , say— without need of notation or background recording or whatever ( once I’ve learned tune by ear).

Until now I could never do that….what has changed? I’m curious.

Before I could only play a tune if fiddle were in my hands using motor memory. It now that’s not necessary.

Curious!

Thanks for any insights from you professional teachers out there.

Re: Your mind on music: the curious path of internalizing irish tunes

“ but now that’s not necessary “ meant to write…

At some point it all becomes a part of your neural network. I’ve had students tell me the same thing, albeit a bit sooner. But that’s just because they had training in areas you haven’t, doing this as a solo act. ;)

Actually, ‘playing’ a tune out in your head is known to be almost as good a practice technique as the real thing. The more clear you are in your mind re: sound, fingerings so on, the more it mimics actual play and is very effective to improving your skill set. That network has to grow and it’s quite complex!

Good for you!
Cheers, Diane