ABC to violin tablature?

ABC to violin tablature?

I’ve found web sites that will convert ABC notation, but I’m not having much luck finding something that converts ABC to standard-tune violin tablature. Am I not looking hard enough?

Re: ABC to violin tablature?

I don’t play violin, but mandolin, which is tuned the same. Some software, such as Guitar Pro (no conflict of interest), can import MIDI files, which can be created from ABC files. Would the tablature for mandolin be adequate for violin?

Posted by .

I have no experience with the mando, and I’m still pretty much a beginner with the fiddle. But the same tuning would certainly be a good start. On the other hand, Guitar Pro seems like a steep price to pay just do to that. I mean, I can scratch fiddle tabs for up most of the tunes I’m looking for, I was just curious if there was something commonly-known that I was missing.

Guitars and mandolins have frets. Violins don’t. TAB is useless for fiddling.

Posted by .

I’ve seen and occasionally produce fiddle "TAB" by doctoring mandolin TAB but I don’t know of any program that will do it automatically.
Gobby, you are perceptive as always. Violins indeed do not have frets so instead the TAB numbers refer to fingers, though how you notate the difference between F natural and F# I never quite worked out.

Mandolin tabs should go a long way on fiddle, if you think of fret numbers as finger positions.
Frets 1 and 2 are for the first finger (low and high position), frets 3 and 4 for the second finger etc.

You can go to mandolin.tab.net for a free online converter.
http://www.mandolintab.net/abcconverter.php

I never heard of tablature for violin. Don’t you mean ordinary staff notation?

As long as you know where to find the actual notes on the fiddle, mandolin tablature will help to an extent but the style of playing is quite different(bowing rathing than picking etc) and even the actual fingering will vary too.