Posting tunes with chords

Posting tunes with chords

Hi all

I am a novice flute player based in Pisa, Italy, who joined TheSession a couple of months ago and found it a very nice community with lots of useful contents. In my daily practice, I am now tackling musical breathing and I find that a good alternative to the metronome is to play along with midi files generated from abc transcriptions that also include chords, thus giving a feeling of the rythm by emphasizing the relevant beats. I do this quite easily thanks to the Tunebook app by JH LABS (http://www.jhlabs.com/tunebook/), which is able to play the tune on-the-fly from an abc file, allowing me to choose the melody instrument, the bass & the treble accompaniment, and most usefully to vary the tempo.

I see that most of the tune settings posted on TheSession do not show chords in their transcriptions. I searched through previous discussions and I understand that the reason for this is that tunes do not traditionally come with chords, that chords are something that one adds on top of the tune, and that the choice of the chords is definitely not unique. Typically, I would transcribe the tune myself or grab it from TheSession, learn it, personally work out a set of chords for that tune, and include these in the abc file. The resulting abc file will include the melody and a suggestion of chords which will, in principle, be harmless to those looking simply for the tune and probably useful to those (if there is any besides me) practising through midi files or those practising with backing the tunes.

In short, is it ok posting tune settings with chords? Would this be welcome by (at least some of) the other members? Any comment on this (and actually also on best practices for training in musical breathing) is welcome.

Thanks
Sergio

Re: Posting tunes with chords