Uilleann pipes - advice on buying

Uilleann pipes - advice on buying

I’ve been playing Scottish bagpipes for about 10 years, some of them competitive. A year ago, I started to play Irish folk music with some friends and am still at it. For this reason it’s time to take the step into Uilleann piping. My current plan is:
Ordering a half-set from an acknowledged maker, start learning the basics of Uilleann pipes and try to overcome the differences between Uilleann piping and Border pipes.

I currently do not live in the UK, but looking for a UK based maker, preferably Ireland, to order from. I can’t find much information regarding differences in sound, construction or general value. I know they are pricey by nature and would like to start off with a good set I can add regulators onto and keep for the rest of my playing career.

I have the opportunity of buying a second hand full-set of Hunter pipes for £5000, but prefer to buy new instruments as long as I can get good quality and at the same time support the tradition of pipe making.

Any advice would be most welcome.

Posted by .

Re: Uilleann pipes - advice on buying

To address your first point about overcoming the differences between uilleann pipes and Scottish pipes-

I play uilleann pipes and have had experience in the past with highland pipes (which are near identical to the border pipes other than the method of inflation). There *are* plenty of transferable skills. The chanter has the same number of holes, and your hands will hold it in a similar way. And if you already play bellows-blown pipes, then you have a leg up as you are already familiar with using bellows and working with two octaves.