Tunes for a Bb Whistle?

Tunes for a Bb Whistle?

I just recently bought my first whistle and it’s a Susato Oriole Bb. I know that the most common to start is a D high whistle, but I’m not a big fan of the high picth of the high whistles. Originally I wanted a low whistle (I’ve recently started classes for alto recorder, never played a soprano recorder before), but they are not available to buy in my country so even the commonly cheaper whistles are quite expensive for me.

I want to play just for fun, I’m not planning to play in groups or do sessions with other people, so I heard the Bb whistles are fine for solo sessions and I really like their sound from videos of people playing it.

My question is, I find sheets for whistles, without notes, just the finger positions, but it never says in what tune they are, so I assume they are in D and I’m not sure if I can play D tunes with an Bb whistle (yes I’m a beginner with music in general so I’m probably saying dumb things here), but are there any tunes that are specific for Bb whistles? If I get any sheet (for a D whistle for instance) and simply do the same fingering in it, will the tune come out right? Do I need to do transposition of tunes made for D whistles to play in Bb whistles?
Thank you.

Re: Tunes for a Bb Whistle?

If you’re not playing in sessions or with others, you can treat a Bb whistle exactly as if it were a D whistle. Tunes would play fine, just in a different key. For example, a tune in D would play in Bb instead.

If you try to play the tunes to be correct pitch, you’d struggle with too much half-noting and cross fingering. If you want to play in session a D whistle is essential, either a regular one or a low D.

If you have a chart of notes of any tune, with 6 finger holes, it will work on any whistle with 6 holes.

If you are playing on your own, that is all you need to know.