OT- if you are in the engineering sciences, what instrument do you play?

OT- if you are in the engineering sciences, what instrument do you play?

My son just asked me an interesting question- If you are in the sciences, specifically engineering, what instruments do you play??? I’m a mechanical engineer by trade, but play uilleann pipes (play being an operative word here) and fiddle. One of my ME work mates plays sax, and all sorts of EE play guitar. If we get some good numbers we could graph it and do some sort of analysis (geek is a word that comes to mind here)

Posted by .

Re: OT- if you are in the engineering sciences, what instrument do you play?

Hi I_Fel,

Elec eng here, former electronics designer of communications equipment, now re-badged as a systems engineer.

Instruments played (with varying degrees of proficiency): guitar, mandolin, modern (metal) flute, recorders (F&C fingerings), crumhorns, viola da gamba, keyboards, classical organ, fiddle. Sing a bit, too.

(Some one did a survey not long ago on borrowings from Fisher Research Library at Sydney Uni and found that most of the borrowers of musical scores and books were doctors and med students, which I thought was interesting, not least because Sydney Uni does have a large-ish music department!)

Posted by .

If submitting other engineers’ details on their behalf is OK for your survey, I can add that other EEs that I have played in bands with played the following:

Drums (ex-violinist)
Bass guitar and piano
Piano and rock/pop organ
Guitar, metal flute and sax.

Posted by .

Oh, add a recorder player, another bass guitarist and two church/classical organists to that list.

Also, one of Oz’s pro-level theatre organists is a biomedical engineer.

Posted by .

EET Test engineer - Uilleann pipes and a bunch of other stuff now gathering dust. Lots of guitarists, drummers and keyboard players in our plant.