Whistle “playing by ear” practice - microphone and amp?

Whistle “playing by ear” practice - microphone and amp?

Odd question.
I’ve been playing whistle for nearly 2 years, but due to the way I originally learnt (tabs), I’ve never gained the ability to play by ear, which I want to now develop.

Part of the issue is there’s no way of playing the upper octave of a whistle quietly, hence you can’t really practice (eg try a phrase on the 3rd repeat) in a session, as people on other instruments seem to do/gain their experience from.

I’ve made a whistle quieter by putting tape over 2/3 of the fiddle, but then can’t really hear it in a loud session if I try to play along.

I’m hence considering rigging up a small microphone on my whistle, into a pocket amp, into a headphone to wear on one ear and try at my local session (they would be fine about it).

My idea being I can play notes which make sense in my head, not disturb anyone by hitting wrong ones, hear the difference to the session and hopefully pick up the ability to get it right.

Does this sound (a little odd but) sensible in getting to my goal?
If so, can anyone recommend a cheap mic/amp setup to accomplish this?

Thank you for your time 🙂

Re: Whistle “playing by ear” practice - microphone and amp?

My practising is done at home. Would it not be easier to record the relevant tune at the session and practise at home?

I think there’s something about playing in a room with other people that would make me pick up the notes faster than listening to a recording, but I guess that is a backup option, thankyou.

If you’re worried about your whistle sounding harsh then get a softer one for those occasions. As mentioned above, record the session or the tunes you want, slow down the playback and listen on headphones at home to learn it. It’s really not worth the trouble and awkwardness of what you’re suggesting.

Randomly noodling is not the correct way to learn by ear, at least not until you are already very good at it.