flute - cuts , taps and glottal stops

flute - cuts , taps and glottal stops

Hi all
Im new to trad flute and wondering where to use cuts , taps and glottal stops.
I am practicing them all but wondering are they interchangeable?
Are some better in some places than others?
An example ,in the lilting banshee… EAA EAA
What would you use between the A and A?
And later …Bee edB… between the e , e and e?
Does it matter!?
Thanks for any tips.

Re: flute - cuts , taps and glottal stops

This might be the hardest question you could ask. No easy, one size fits all, answers. My suggestion is to listen to a lot of flute players, listen some more, and then really listen. Listen to a lot of flute players, everybody will suggest their favorites. They all have their ways of using articulations and ornaments, some with a lot, some sparingly. That’s why they don’t all sound the same. Find the one’s you like. Grey Larsen, Conal O’Grada, and Shannon Heaton all offer wonderful resources. The OAIM is another. I personally like Shannon Heaton’s on-line offerings and Conal O’Grada’s tutorial (book and CD). The Irish Flute Store has a list of on-line instructors. Sure you can go it alone, but you’ll save a lot of time and aggravation by finding someone you like and doing what they say. Of course somebody else will tell you you’re doing it wrong so learn from them and choose for yourself. Just be sure that before you decide where to use glottal stops, tongue ( yeah it’s still useful) , taps, cuts, rolls, and slides you can do them. As for the EAA EAA thing fool around with it and see what you come up with. That will teach you a lot too. One last thing, no amount of technical virtuosity will make a player a great player unless that player brings his (for lack of a better word) "heart" to the table.

Are you new two ITM in general or only new to the flute?