Concertina vs Melodian (melodica)

Concertina vs Melodian (melodica)

So, I love the sound of a concertina. But as a poor college student, I see the prices on nice ones and my heart drops. I already own a melodian, and I’m wondering. Is it worth getting a cheap concertian to have fun with, or is it similar enough to a melodian that there’s no point and I’d be wasting my money? Help. Please.

Re: Concertina vs Melodian (melodica)

The melodica and the concertina are extremely different, although both being free reed instruments there’s at least a little similarity int he sound. Outside of the "Rochelle" model Anglo concertina from Concertina Connection, which currently sells for a bit over $400US, I have not heard great things about any concertina under about $2,000US. That’s not to say you can’t get them under that, I’ve just heard mostly poor reviews (stiff, leaky bellows, bad reeds, poor construction) of the cheaper concertinas on the market.

I’ll let someone who actually plays the concertina inform you more about that side of things, but I will say that I have heard trad played excellently on the melodica, so you wouldn’t be the only one out there. I saw a young man playing one in Clifden a while ago, I believe a member of the Hernon family there (or at least was playing with Marcus), and he was great! He was missing a hand, which I’d imagine makes most other trad instruments somewhat awkward to play, but made the melodica sound wonderful.

I haven’t been able to find a video of him around, but I might not be searching for the right terms. Just don’t try this to your local session:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDkifmkSJmc

do you really mean melodica [the little mouth blown keyboard in the vid] or melodeon [1 0r 2 row diatonic push/pull accordion? just so we know what we’re talking about.