Beginner

Beginner

I am just starting to learn the Uillean pipes and have a practise set, my query is.
I am just seven weeks in and it is slow, now I did realise that this would not be easy, I am a self taught concert flute player so have some musical knowledge.
My question is, how long have other novices found that it takes to get some sort of tune from the pipes and how do they get to the second octave easily ( does the Reed need to be played in.).
Thanks for any comments/help.
Ian.

Re: Beginner

They say the first seven years are the toughest 🙂

What kind of set do you play? I’d say at least a half year before you can enjoy a tune. Not saying you cannot do it faster but depend on your gear.

Posted by .

The uilleann pipes, I think, are the most difficult instrument to learn without in-person help because a problem a beginner is having can have a number of completely different causes. Though the causes are unrelated the problem sounds exactly the same over the internet or over the phone. This means the only way for an experienced player to diagnose the problem is to play the beginner’s chanter. Without playing the beginner’s chanter the most experienced pipers/teachers are reduced to mere guessing.

The example you give is one of those things. You say the 2nd octave is difficult. There is no way anybody can know why it’s difficult without playing your chanter.

An experienced piper might play your chanter and find that the 2nd octave plays like a dream! Sweet and easy, no problem whatever. The problem could be 100% technique-related, say, not sealing the finger-holes well enough, or not sealing the bottom of the chanter well enough, or not pushing on the bag hard enough, or pushing the bag too hard, or not maintaining an even-enough supply of air to the reed, or using incorrect technique to obtain the 2nd octave, or possibly other things.